Life on the Other Side of Death

Thoughts from a survivor on life, faith, and anything else that comes to mind

Seek First

on January 31, 2013

Matthew 6:25-34 talks about how we are not to worry.  Most of the passage talks about how God takes care of the birds and the flowers, and how much more He will take care of us.  The passage ends with the following:  “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.  Each day has enough trouble of its own.”  Now isn’t that the truth!

I don’t know about you but I definitely have the worry bug.  I am constantly hindering myself because of my fear of what the future may or may not hold.  For example, last Saturday was my training show for my new business.  I was a nervous wreck!  I was running here and there, trying to make sure everything was set up perfectly.  The day arrived and for the most part, things did not go as I had planned them to.  Interesting thing though, I had a great turn out, we had a ton of fun, and many of the guests either bought jewelry and/or booked a show to host in the near future.  Here it is a week later and I am still receiving orders from those who could not attend the show but want to support me in my new endeavor, and enjoy getting some new jewelry in the process.

I had fretted endlessly about how everything should go and what I should do.  The thing is though, for over a month now, I have been praying for God to be in charge of my business.  It is not something I consciously pray every day but  I have prayed about it often.  God was at work, no matter what my plan was.

Verse 33 says, “But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.”  This is one of the ways in which God truly is amazing.  If we are focused first on Him, then on everything else, we allow Him to do whatever it is He wants to do.  I am so thankful that even in the midst of my being distracted from Him, He still knew my heart and knew I wanted Him to be glorified in this.  I am blessed to be His child and no matter my circumstances I will praise His Holy Name.

 


Leave a comment